She

portrait

Attempt at self-portrait.

She

51 thoughts on “She

  1. Oh – so lovely to see you Elina! I love that portrait! πŸ˜€ The light on your face is lovely, did you use something to reflect light or was it just one of those perfect moments?

    1. Thank you so much Suzy for those lovely words πŸ™‚

      It was a sunny morning so I had good natural light, when processing in Lightroom I brought out the light a bit on face by making other areas a bit darker… and I added the vignette to bring a soft darker tone to the edges of the photo.

      I myself really like to see photos of other bloggers, or hear something about them, or hear their voice like yours. It adds more personal touch to the blog. It involves getting out of your comfort zone but that’s a good thing to do from time to time πŸ™‚

      1. It does look like a sunny morning! So you processed this yourself? Oh, very good – not a lot of that going on today, but I’ve heard there’s a bit of a revival going on with film photography and processing your own prints! Both types of photography are fascinating in their own way!

        Yes, it really does add a personal touch to a blog to see a picture, or sometimes a video – brave people who do videos!!!
        And it is all about getting out of your comfort zone. It’s one of those things, it’s OK when you’ve done it, and you wonder what the worry was for! Well I’m very glad you stepped out today Elina!! πŸ˜€

      2. Yes I’m bit by bit learning to process photos. I’m not sure what you mean by a revival going on. If you shoot raw files then you need to process them so you could use them as photos… and I believe most photographers, even amateurs do that (shoot raw and then process using a computer programme). It is like having a negative of a film camera… that you still need to develop. It doesn’t necessarily mean that you would make it look like something totally different. You just adjust exposure, colours, contrast and such things. Sorry… I hope I didn’t totally misunderstand you and explain something that is obvious for you.

        Thank you so much for your encouragement Suzy! πŸ™‚

      3. Ah, what I meant by revival was that a lot of the photographers I follow on WordPress are getting very excited about going back to using their old SLR camera’s sometimes, and loading real film and processing their own prints in a dark room – smelly chemicals included! πŸ™‚ Digital film is so good and has taken over (which is understandable, it’s amazing!) but some of those photographers like the graininess that you get with real film, and just the fun of seeing their own prints appear before their eyes in the darkroom. It has been described by some of them as a ‘revival’ of the old photography, so that’s why I called it that. I hope that makes a bit more sense!

        I never really see moving digital photo files from the camera to the computer as processing – it feels like they already are a picture, but I suppose it is processing, just a totally different kind. It’s certainly a lot quicker and much cleaner! πŸ˜€

      4. Now I understand better πŸ™‚ I first understood from you that there is not a lot of photo-processing (on computer) going on these days. Because I think there is and this is how most photographers do it. But going back to old film cameras is absolutely cool and I would also like to try that again one day. And developing the photos myself in darkroom. Thank you Suzy for clarifying things πŸ™‚

      1. Cool πŸ™‚ Always fascinating to know something more about people whose work I really enjoy! I also understand and respect people who choose to remain incognito πŸ™‚

    1. So the eyes really are a mirror to the soul… intelligence and wonder, so beautifully said! I really am a person who wonders and questions a lot… a thinker type. Hoping to be somewhat intelligent also πŸ™‚ I feel like black and white often works really well with portraits. Thank you Aldous for yet another beautiful comment!

  2. Lovely. Beautiful subject beautifully captured. Reminds me that my profile photo needs some updating. Of course I don’t look so nice so maybe I’ll stay hidden behind the camera for now πŸ˜‰

    1. Isn’t it funny how photographers themselves end up in photos so rarely… cause they are always the ones taking photos. It’s probably a good experience being photographed also every once in a while. Behind the camera it’s truly much less intimidating, I couldn’t agree more πŸ™‚ Thank you for your kind words Jeff!

  3. WOW I can’t believe I missed this post. Great self portrait and a quite lovely. Awesome job on this photo, this is one of the best self portraits I have seen. Have a great weekend πŸ˜€

  4. Elina I just showed my wife this self portrait she thinks it’s great. She told me when she was in school and took a photography class the teacher made all the students take a self portrait as an assignment. This photo of you brought her back to that moment instantly. Oh the power of photography !

    1. My teacher didn’t give such assignment (yet) but I’ve read from somewhere that every photographer should do a self portrait. I thought it was a good idea and worth to try. So nice to hear that this photo brought back memories to your wife. Truly the power of photography πŸ˜€ Give your wife warm greetings from me!

  5. Hi Elina! I love black and white pix… you’re pretty, young lady! πŸ™‚ my very best and friendly greetings from Toulouse, France! cheers and good luck! πŸ™‚ MΓ©lanie

  6. This is really nicely done! There are some subtleties that give the photo a soft and slightly mysterious appeal. I also like the way you only reveal part of your face. With your hair flowing down the side of the photo it creates a very nice composition. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

