Light and Shadows

21.11.2013

I really like my photography studies so far. We do a lot of practical exercises, watch taken photos and get really great constructive feedback from our teacher. It’s wonderful to study in a group where everyone is really into photography. We all share the same passion and it doesn’t matter that otherwise we might be in totally different phases in our lives. Speaking of which, in my early thirties I’m pretty sure I am the youngest in the group. So great that nowadays it is ok to study at any age really. I’m also probably the least experienced in photography. Which is a bit intimidating since others seem to know so much already and for me many things are totally new. Luckily the atmosphere is very friendly and well, I will probably gain the most from this course then.

Anyways, yesterday we did some exercises using torches to see how different angles and directions of light affect the subject and I really liked this photo.

Light and Shadows

30 thoughts on “Light and Shadows

  1. Don’t be intimidated because you are the youngest in the study group, I would be willing to bet your photos can stand head to head with the more experienced members. I really like the photo you posted it has great color depth and is dramatic. Well done Elina πŸ˜€ Have a great day.

    1. Thank you LD, I’m glad about your kind words πŸ™‚ I thought it might be interesting to hear how we learn, even for the much more experienced photographers like you.

  2. Jackie says:

    This is a great capture! The lighting is wonderful. Best of luck with your studies – I feel confident that you will do very well. πŸ˜€

  3. Dramatic picture Elina! I’m a very bad photographer, so have no idea about the technical aspects of any of the work you put online. All I know is that I am always impressed by it. You have a wonderful eye, and seeing each new picture post is a high point of my day. I always look forward to scrolling down to the next treasure you have shared.

    1. I think there are no bad photographers, just different ones. πŸ˜‰ Not knowing the technical side can be a blessing – you can just enjoy the photos and not pay attention to how “correctly” they have been made. I’m so glad you enjoy my photos πŸ™‚ Such kind words Aldous, thank you!

  4. That’s a stunner of a picture Elina!! πŸ˜€ I love the light in this – very professional!

    It’s a good idea to do some studies on photography, and it’s good to hear you are enjoying it too! πŸ™‚ When I was into photography in my early 20’s I never did that, just read piles of magazines and books and talked endlessly about it to my very patient Mum! πŸ™‚ I think it would have been nice to have done some studies. You do pick up little tricks from other people just in conversation.

    I have to say though, because I was so young I found that when I was talking to someone who’d been into photography for at least 10 years or more, they always talked to me as though I knew nothing – they just assumed because I was 21, (she can’t know much.) It used to annoy me greatly! So I’d show them my portfolio of portraits, which was the photography I loved most – they went a little quiet after that! πŸ™‚ I’ve never forgotten those assumptions, and I always keep that in mind as a general rule when talking to young people today – never assume they don’t know!! πŸ˜€ As you are the youngest in your photography class, do you ever find this happens to you?

    1. Thank you Suzy! πŸ™‚

      I agree it’s always worth to do some studies on what you are interested in. Even though all the knowledge you can find in books and on the internet (I also read a lot about photography), you get an extra value and a great experience from studying in a group. Plus it’s a lot more fun than sitting by yourself and reading. πŸ™‚

      Luckily I haven’t experienced anything like you did because I’m the youngest and least experienced in my group. Everyone is really friendly and I guess it’s cool that in general we all have a bit different styles and background in photography. It’s mainly from my own point of view that I can see I’m not as confident yet in photography cause many things are new to me and I’m not always sure I’m doing everything “correctly”.

      Have you thought of picking up your photography passion again some day? I’d love to see your photos. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experience -Suzy, I really enjoyed reading it!

      1. Ah, I wouldn’t worry too much if you are doing things correctly or not, as long as the end result is good or it leads you learn more that’s all that matters in the end. Mistakes, and sometimes other peoples mistakes can teach us more than when it goes right. I’ve lost count of how much I’ve learnt from reading bad novels – they have been worth reading just to show me how ‘not’ to write!! πŸ˜€

        I have done some photography recently, but not as much as I used to. I’m using a very cheap Canon camera at the moment (my brothers old camera!) And it’s good fun, and helping me adjust to using digital, but I don’t like pictures of people taken with it, except children. Everyone else seems to come out looking wrong and a bit pale too. I’m still not used to the slight delay in what I’m seeing and what the camera actually takes – that’s very annoying, and not good for pictures of people! So I guess if I got back into it properly I’d have to do a lot of research on the right digital SLR camera for me, they appear to vary a lot in the end results, I’d hate to waste a lot of money on the wrong one!

        I do have a few pictures of mine on the blog, but others are waiting their turn for the poem or story that goes with it. I might do a page one day with some older shots from the past, but I’m trying to stay away from my blog as much as I can at the moment – it all takes a lot of creative time!! πŸ™‚ But here’s a couple of links to the ones I do have on the internet if you want to have a look. The rose is from a poem on my blog called ‘A Rose’ and the leaves are on my Tumblr blog with some words added. Both were a quick point and shoot job. I couldn’t see the rose because the sun was so bright, or the leaves because it was down on the ground. It seems I take better pictures if I don’t look at the moment! πŸ˜‰

        http://suzywordmuser.tumblr.com/image/65169833319

      2. Wow Suzy I love both of these photos. The rose is so clear and has a lovely colour, I like it that you took such a close up. The autumn leaves are also really beautiful, and it’s a nice angle you took the photo from. I can see you’ve got talent and an eye for photography.

        You are right about learning from mistakes, that’s so true. And yes, the right camera is a tough choice, there are so many different ones out there. And well, it’s not like you can test many of them and then decide. πŸ™‚

  5. It’s good that you’re the youngest and least experienced, this must give you the opportunity to learn even more and more. Personally, I’d rather to always friend and follow older and more sophisticated people. You’re doing a great job actually, I really like your pictures. Keep up the hard work. Best wishes. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, you are so kind! I am also taking it this way that I will benefit the most from these studies. πŸ™‚ It’s lovely to hear you like my photos. Thank you for leaving so many likes on posts, it’s a joy!

Leave a Reply

