Photographing a Model

model_01

model_02

A few weeks ago on my photography course we were learning to use flash. One day our teacher brought along a model so he could show us “live” how it all works. Afterwards we all got to photograph sweet and lovely Jannica who kindly let me publish these photos.

model_03

I thought I’d add a “behind the scenes” shot so you could see how those two photos above were taken. So no studio, just our classroom. A flash with softbox on the right, another one with grid in the back and someone holding a reflector.

I hope you enjoy hearing about my studies every now and then.

Photographing a Model

53 thoughts on “Photographing a Model

  1. Woooow!!!! i love this shot!!! its really an inspiration!!! am going to follow your blog 24/7 just to keep track of your new pictures!!!! What software was used in making the photos?

    1. Hi there! I’m humbled by your kind words. 🙂 I’m still quite a beginner so thank you so much for such great encouragement!
      I use Adobe Lightroom 5.
      I appreciate your follow, so glad to have you here!

    1. Your workshop sounds like something I’d like to participate in one day. 🙂 It’s always interesting to do something a bit different. Thank you for your kind words Eddie, they are much appreciated! 🙂

  2. These are just beautiful Elina from the catchlights in her eyes to the amount of fill in the shadows 😀 Are you sure this is your first time with flash ? If so you are a superb student 😀

    1. Thank you Joe but I can’t take all credits for setting up flashes… our teacher helped us do that. So our task was more to find good angles to shoot from so the light would hit the right places. Of course we could change the settings, and decide about reflector and try a bit different things which we did. But yes, it actually was my first time with flash(es). I don’t even own a flash yet myself. You are so kind, thank you so much! 🙂

      1. When it comes time to purchase a flash or two you might want to buy used Nikon SB-24, 25, 26 or 28’s. They can be had for very cheap because they cannot be used with modern digital cameras on the hot shoe because the trigger voltage is too high but they are excellent when used off camera with remote wireless triggers like Pocket Wizards.

      2. That’s good to know, thank you! Actually our teacher advised to buy 3 flashes instead of one… so you really have much more freedom in any conditions.

      3. I agree with him. I own a Nikon SB-910 and two Nikon SB-700’s. I do some manual work but most of the time I use the iTTL mode with the Pocket Wizard Mini and Flex TT5 which allows remote wireless iTTL flash mode controlled by radio signals. With the more basic Pocket Wizard Plus II’s everything has to be set in manual mode (which is very good for learning how to light a subject). An example a single flash with a reflector and Pocket Wizard iTTL flash was used on Mondays post with the Integrated Circuit. 😀

    1. I totally agree on practical experience being very valuable. This is what I really like about my course, that we really do practice a lot. Reflectors truly seem to be useful. I’m glad you enjoyed also the look behind the scenes. 🙂 Thank you for your kind comment Lignum Draco!

  3. The Digital Attic Photography says:

    It appears you have a good grasp of how to use light and you did a wonderful with depth of field to focus on the foreground, eliminating the busy background. When I started out and had a small budget, I used three cheap clip-on lights and fluorescent bulbs for both photo and video work. Just remember to adjust white balance.

    1. Thank you for your kind words! Those clip-on lights sound like a good idea. When on my course we started to learn about the light we did exercises with torches to see how the light affects the subject. I really enjoyed that. If you’d like to see I once posted a photo: Light and Shadows
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I appreciate it! 🙂

  4. Lovely shots Elina, all nice and natural too. Great work and I trust you are really enjoying yourself there. It is good to try things you might not normal do. Your eye is good and thanks for an interesting post. MM 📷

    1. I really am enjoying myself on the photography course. 🙂 Thank you so much for your very kind words and support Mick, I’m glad to hear you found the post interesting!

  5. Son of Sharecroppers says:

    Great shots! I suffer from flashophobia. I’ll use static lighting, but not flash. I need to learn!

    1. I hear flashophobia is not so uncommon. 🙂 Most of the people on my course, even the ones who have been photographing for years feel really insecure about using flash and try to avoid it. I think luckily our many practical exercises on the course have helped. I don’t even own a flash yet myself but I think once I get it it will take time and practice to learn to use it. Thank you for your kind comment Daniel!

    1. Thank you Laurie! Taking a course is always a good idea I think. My course has encouraged and given me possibilities to try things I’d otherwise hesitate to try. It has made me get out of my comfort zone in a good way. Also meeting other photographers and seeing how they work has been really great. 🙂

  6. These are beautiful – you are excellent on photographing people! 😀 You could take my portrait any day – and that’s a big statement coming from someone who hates having her picture taken!! 😉

Leave a Reply

